Captain Faq

Do you have a question on how the rules work for a certain Captain? Find the Captain below and read the official rulings. If you cannot find the answer to your question on this page then please click the button below and we will answer your question and add it to the FAQ below.

 
 

Base Game Captains

Anne Bonny

  • Anne Bonny ignores all penalties to movement, including temporary movement penalties that may be imposed by Bounty Cards.
  • She still moves normally upwind and in neutral directions.

Benjamin Hornigold

  • Benjamin Hornigold sells each piece of cargo for 1 silver extra. For example, if he sells 4 Rum in Tortuga and Rum is posted at selling for 3 silver each there he would make a total of 16 silver (4 silver for each Rum, which is 1 silver higher than the posted price.)
  • His bonus works in combination with any other bonus that allows him to sell for extra silver (the Ruby Ring relic card, for example. If Benjamin Hornigold had the Ruby Ring he would sell all of his cargo for 2 silver extra.)
  • He must always buy cargo for a minimum of 1 silver each, even if the price is already posted at 1 silver.

Bartholomew Roberts

  • Bartholomew Roberts may purchase all Crew upgrades for half cost in all circumstances. If there are any specialty rules that allow him to purchase Crew upgrades at a cost other than the normal cost he may choose to purchase the upgrade at half of the special cost.
  • If Bartholomew Roberts chooses to sell a Crew upgrade back to the bank for half price he may not purchase an upgrade to the Crew track within the same turn (basically, it is not allowed for him to use his ability in a way that would allow him to make a profit from selling his upgrades back.)

Black Caesar

  • If Black Caesar steal a relic which modifies a player's hold capacity (Sea Chart, as an example), he may immediately count his cargo maximum at the new value.
  • All Ship Cards count as Merchant Ships for the purpose of drawing a new Bounty Card, even expansion Ship Cards that may not require combat. If Black Caesar's ship is not plundered as a result of the encounter he may draw a Bounty Card.

Blackbeard

  • All Ship Cards count as Merchant Ships for the purpose of drawing a new Bounty Card, even expansion Ship Cards that may not require combat. If Blackbeard's ship is not plundered as a result of the encounter he may gain coins from the bank.

Calico Jack

  • Calico Jack receives his free coins whether or not he chooses to buy or sell cargo in the New Port. If he simply enters the port and receives his free coins he must make that port his new Anchor Port.
  • Calico Jack does not receive his free coins upon being plundered, regardless of the port that he is sent to.

Captain Kidd

  • Captain Kidd does not add any bonuses to this roll (such as from the Harpsichord relic.) He wants to roll as low as possible.
  • If Captain Kidd's role is successful he gains his free coins before beginning his turn. Thus, if he were to draw a Bounty Card that allows him to utilize his new coins (such as a Black Market, for example), his new coins can be used immediately.

Charles Vane

  • If Charles Vane plunders another player he gets to choose the upgrade that is stolen. He must gain his upgrade to the same track that is stolen from the plundered player.
  • Functionally, the stolen upgrade counts as losing an upgrade for the plundered player. Thus, relics or captain abilities that protect against losing your upgrades effectively counteract Charles Vane's ability. Conversely, however, Charles Vane cannot count his upgrade as a free upgrade (like the one granted from Parley.) Thus, he cannot gain bonuses usually tied to gaining a free upgrade. If he had the Sacred Icon relic, for example, he would not gain an extra upgrade.
  • All Ship Cards count as Merchant Ships for the purpose of drawing a new Bounty Card, even expansion Ship Cards that may not require combat. If Charle Vane's ship is not plundered as a result of the encounter he may gain a free upgrade.
  • If CHarles Vane gains an upgrade to his Hold track as the result of his special ability he may immediately increase his total cargo capacity to the new limit before receiving plundered cargo.

Charlotte de Berry

  • Charlotte de Berry receives her free coins, if any, before beginning her turn. Thus, if she were to draw a Bounty Card that allows her to utilize her new coins (such as a Black Market, for example), her new coins can be used immediately.

Edward England

  • Placeholder. Need to get updated card rules.

Emanuel Wynn

  • If Emanuel Wynn has any special abilities granted to him from other sources (such as a Relic) that allow him to draw an extra Bounty Card at the beginning of his turn he must draw the extra card after using his special ability which allows him to draw 2 Bounty Cards and select one to play.

Flora Burn

  • No clarification needed (yet!) We feel this captain is well explained as is.

Francis Drake

  • Francis Drake can only change rolled values on dice that he roles.

Henry Every

  • Henry Every may take advantage of relics swapped this way immediately, as his ability is used before his turn begins. For example, if he chooses to swap one of his relics for an opponent's Concertina he would receive free coins that same turn (assuming, of course, that he has a high enough Crew score to take advantage of the Contertina's bonus.)
  • If Henry Every swaps away a Relic which gives him a bonus to his Cargo capacity (the Sea Chart, for example) he must immediately discard any cargo he is holding that is above his new limit.

Henry Morgan

  • If Henry Morgan, through the course of the game, achieves the 3rd tier upgrade in a track multiple times, for whatever reason, he may receive an upgrade to the 4th tier in that same track each time.

James Plaintain

  • After receiving his free cargo James Plaintain may still choose to purchase additional cargo in the instance that the cargo he receives for free is undesirable. He must still discard down to his cargo limit after purchasing additional cargo, however.
  • James Plaintain may activate his ability in any circumstance, regardless if the port he is in is his Anchor Port or not. Even, and escpecially, after being plundered by another player or Merchant Ship he may choose to always refill his hold to its maximum capacity for free (as long as he starts his turn in a port.)
  • James Plaintain cannot sell this free cargo in his Anchor Port, making it impossible for him to both receive free cargo and sell that cargo in the same port.

Jean Lafitte

  • As with all instances in Privateer, half values must be rounded down. Thus, if Jean Lafitte has a movement score of 5 his bonus move would allow him to move 2 spaces after plundering a ship.
  • Jean Lafitte still must follow all rules governing movement in regards to wind direction on his bonus move. In the above example Jean Lafitte would move a total of 4 spaces if sailing downwind (or only 1 space if sailing upwind.)
  • Jean Lafitte's bonus move does not allow him to end his turn in the same ocean space as another player or a merchant ship. He may enter into a port, however.

Maria Lindsey

  • If Maria Lindsey has any special abilities granted to her from other sources (such as a Relic) that allow her to draw an extra Bounty Card when entering a New Port she must draw the extra card after using her special ability which allows her to draw 2 Bounty Cards and select one to play.

Mary Read

  • As with all cases of receiving a free upgrade in Privateer, Mary Read's free upgrade must be to any upgrade track but her highest track at the time of earning the upgrade.

Ned Low

  • Placeholder. Need rules clarification.

Olivier Levasseur

  • If playing with the Corsair Expansion, Olivier Levasseur must choose to either keep the entirety of his roled dice or reroll them all. He may not choose which dice to reroll individually. Addtionally, his power affects the dice rolled by his opponent, as well. All dice must be rerolled if Olivier Levasseur chooses to utilize his special ability (even dice rolled by other players or a Merchant Ship.)
  • Olivier Levasseur can only force a reroll of combat dice for a combat situation that he is personally involved in. He cannot, for example, force another player to reroll combat dice against a Merchant Ship.

Rachel Wall

  • Rachel Wall's ability allows her to sell her cargo even when not in a port.
  • Whenever Rachel Wall sells cargo in a port that port must be assigned a new Port Cord, as normal. She does not, however, have to place her anchor in that port.
  • Utilizing her ability does not count as entering the port that she sells at for the purpose of changing her Anchor Port or for triggering any special abilities (such as the Sacred Icon's.)

Samuel Bellamy

  • Samuel Bellamy does not add any bonuses to the roll made to trigger his special ability (such as from the Harpsichord relic.) He wants to roll as low as possible.
  • If Samuel Bellamy is successfully able to change the wind direction he may not choose to set the wind to a neutral direction. His ability is functionally identical to playing a Favorable Wind card.

Stede Bonnett

  • Stede Bonnett has no continual advantage throughout the game. Instead, he starts at a considerable advantage compared to the other players. As such, rather than a rules clarification, we have chosen to offer a few tips on how to best capitalize on his bonus.
  • Stede Bonnett must take full advantage of his starting position in order to stay relevant throughout the game. Rather than spreading out his upgrades and diluting his advantage we recommend becoming dominant in one track as other players will not be able to compete in the early game. A high Crew score will allow Stede to win any early game Parleys, for example. A high Hold, conversely, will allow him to make the largest profit in his first run to a New Port, allowing him to stay ahead of the competition.

Woodes Rogers

  • Placeholder. Rules clarifications needed.

Tales of the Tide Captains

Calypso

  • Calypso gains an Upgrade even if a Curse is played on her. She gains her free Upgrade before having her Upgrade stolen by another player.
  • If Calypso plays a Curse she gains an Upgrade before stealing an Upgrade from another player.

Davy Jones

  • Davy Jones may choose to battle a Monster when drawing from the Ship Deck. Before drawing he must announce his intention to fight a Monster. If he chooses to fight a Monster he will draw from the deck until a Monster is found. He must battle the first Monster that is drawn.

Corsair Captains

François l'Olonnais

  • François l'Olonnais removes two Hull points from an opponent's Captain or from a Merchant Ship/Monster upon each successful hit. He also removes two of his own Hull Points upon being hit in a battle

Jean Fleury

  • Jean Fleury cannot have his Officers or Relics stolen by other players. Additionally he may have multiple copies of the same Officer card in effect at any time.

Robert Culliford

  • Upon entering a New Port he may choose to place any Mandate type normally available to him. He may place a Condemn on a player, a Blockade on a port, or a Tariff on a cargo type. He may also choose to replace another's Mandate, as normal.
  • Additionally, Robert Culliford receives double the normal amount of silver for each of his Mandates. In the case of a Tariff or Blockade he would receive 2 silver per cargo unit sold (or 4 per unit sold if he has both a Blockade and a Tariff that overlap. ie a Tariff on Rum and a Blockade in Tortuga and an opponent is selling Rum in Tortuga.)

Thomas Tew

  • When plundering either a Merchant Ship (including Monsters) or another player's ship, Thomas Tew may place a Mandate of any type normally available to him. He may place a Condemn on a player, a Blockade on a port, or a Tariff on a cargo type. He may also choose to replace another's Mandate, as normal.
  • Thomas Tew's Mandates cannot be replaced by another player. He may, however, choose to replace his own Mandates. He can change a Blockade from Tortuga to Cartagena, for example.

Diego Alcante

  • Diego Alcante can regain a Hull Point whenever he removes a Hull Point from an opposing ship (either a Merchant Ship or another player's.)